Away with the Penguins

Last night, I finished the absolutely delightful book “Away with the the Penguins”, by Hazel Prior. This marvellous book kept me company in the small hours, as I read by the twinkling lights on the Christmas tree. “Away with the Penguins” was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick. I have enjoyed most of their recommendations throughout the years, so I was looking forward to the story. The book opens with Veronica, a grumpy, elderly woman barking orders at her care assistant, Eileen. Veronica is a rich lady who lives in a rambling big house in the windswept Scottish Highlands. She is in her mid eighties and thinking about what to do with her millions when she dies. She hires an agency to track any living relatives, and is surprised to find she has a grandson, Patrick. Grandmother and grandson’s first meeting is less than inspiring, so Veronica decides, after watching a nature programme, that she will leave all her money to the Amelie penguins of Antartica! But first, she embarks on a wild adventure to see the penguins for herself! What happens in Antartica changes her forever. The story is mostly told in alternating chapters and viewpoints between Veronica and her grandson, Patrick. In a surprise gift from the past, Patrick discovers the loves and losses of his grandmother’s tumultuous life. He learns that she is much more than the grumpy old lady she pretends to be. The story has a similar tone to the wonderful “Eleanor Olyphant is Completely Fine”, by Gail Honeyman, which is another book I loved. “Away with the Penguins” is a touching, poignant, funny, uplifting story of love, loss, and finally redemption. It shows that we should never judge a book by its cover—pun/ cliche intended. And that it is never too late, nor are we ever too old to let love in and embark on an adventure. I adored this book. I cried and laughed and cheered the characters on. I am delighted to have discovered a new author in Hazel Prior, and I look forward to reading “Ellie and the Harpmaker”, which shall no doubt be keeping me company tonight, on this most peculiar of New Year’s Eves.