How to get out of a Reading Slump

I have always been an avid reader, but every now and then I’ll find myself in a bit of a reading slump. This slump is usually caused by reading too many books consecutively in the same genre. I’ve realised the importance of changing up my reading genres regularly. So I’ll read a crime thriller, then maybe a psychological thriller, followed by a police procedural, a self help book, then a feel good book. This mix up stops me getting stuck in a rut. Because no matter how well written a book is, I find that if I continuously read in the same genre, I burn out. However, I have stuck to mostly feel good, light reading throughout 2020 because I just wasn’t mentally or emotionally able for anything too taxing. I have just finished “Away with the Penguins,” by Hazel Prior. Before that, I read “Shopaholic Christmas,” by Sophie Kinsella. And before that again, I read “Claim Your Power,” by Mastin Kipp, which I HIGHLY recommend. Mastin is a real breath of fresh air in the self help genre. The book comes with a free 40 day tutorial from Mastin, guiding you throughout each page of the book. I had so many breakthroughs reading “Claim Your Power.” I think it is my number one book of 2020! More on that in an upcoming post. So, what books do I specifically recommend to get yourself out of a reading slump? Firstly, I would recommend something lighthearted and feel good. My top recommendations are “Away with the Penguins”, by Hazel Prior. Or “Eleanor Olyphant is Completely Fine”. Also, one of my all time favourite books, “The Light Between Oceans” or “The Notebook”. I know, get your hankies out. But these books will carry you away and get you back into reading. If you are interested in something more self help, I highly recommend Mastin Kipp’s “Claim Your Power” or Oprah’s “ What I know for Sure” or “The Path Made Clear”. Sometimes, what we most need when in a reading slump is to take a complete break from reading. Watch television. Indulge our other hobbies. Watch some ASMR videos on YouTube which are particularly good at helping with sleep. Give yourself a break. Because as a wise person once said, “A break is as good as a rest.”