My Best Books of 2020

One of the highlights of every New Year for me is discovering new books. Today, I would like to share with you my best books of 2020. I need to share this post because most of today has been spent lolling around in my pyjamas, cleaning the house, and day dreaming, which is perfectly acceptable because no one can be expected to start New Year Resolutions on a Saturday, can they?? Monday will be the official start to my Perfect Life... We shall see...

Back to business. Without further ado, here are my Best Books of 2020:

1.) Away with the Penguins, by Hazel Prior A lovely, feel good, life affirming novel that shows it’s never too late to find love or adventure.

2.) The Power of Now, by Eckhart Tolle A calming book that teaches us how to live in the moment.

3.) Claim Your Power, by Mastin Kipp A step by step method to truly finding your life purpose; and it’s not what you think it is.

4.) The Wisdom of Sundays, by Oprah Winfrey Inspirational life lessons from Oprah’s interviews with world leaders and thinkers.

5.) What I Know for Sure, by Oprah Winfrey Oprah shares what brings most meaning to her life in this gem.

6.) Life in Pieces, by Dawn O’ Porter A refreshingly honest, hilarious, heartbreaking account of Dawn O’ Porter’s journey through the COVID 19 pandemic.

7.) Quite, by Claudia Winkleman Life lessons from the wonderfully irreverent, lovable, eponymous UK television presenter.

8.) The Cows, by Dawn O’ Porter Three very different women connected by one shocking moment. An hilarious, life affirming novel from Dawn O’ Porter

9.) So Lucky, by Dawn O’ Porter Another poignantly hilarious novel from Dawn O’ Porter about three different women who are each on their own journey of self-discovery. I fell in love with Dawn’s writing during 2020. Her books kept me company on many a sleepless night. Love her! Check out her Instagram @hotpatooties. She also has a blog on Patreon which will keep you updated on her life and writing. Her blog is like a continuation of Life in Pieces. Love ❤️

10.) The Secrets of Strangers, by Charity Norman Another Richard and Judy Book club pick. A heartbreaking, intriguing, multi-faceted story that opens in a coffee shop under siege. I particularly liked how the author showed us the human side of the so called antagonist. I felt I really knew the characters and didn’t want the book to end. Another new favourite writer for me.

11.) Escape to the French Farmhouse, by Jo Thomas A lovely, feelgood novel about a woman who starts a new life in France solo after breaking up with her fiancé. A pleasantly light read, perfect entertainment for those times when one feels a little fragile.

12.) The Mothers, by Sarah J Naughton Five very different women, brought together by their weekly book club, united by a deadly secret. Gripping psychological crime thriller that will keep you up into the night.

13.) Big Magic: Creative Living beyond Fear, by Elizabeth Gilbert A wonderful, encouraging, joyful, honest book about Elizabeth Gilbert’s writerly journey and the courage it takes to put yourself out there creatively. Perfect for any professional creative.

14.) Blood Orange, by Harriet Tyce Brilliant debut novel from former London barrister, Harriet Tyce. I tend to avoid debut novels because I find the writing stilted and characters underdeveloped and cliched usually. But this novel was gripping. Up and coming lawyer, Alison, seems to have it all: devoted husband, rising career, lovely daughter but someone knows the truth about her alcoholism and secret affair. Someone who is determined to make her pay the price.

There are several more books I could list here, but I think I’ll save them for my favourite books of all time. This should be enough to keep you going for now. January 2nd already. My man friend greeted me this morning with “This year is flying by!” Day 2... we shall see. To be honest, I’m already exhausted. Roll on Spring time.